Jim Petersen, Author at Historic Wendover Airfield
Historic Wendover Airfield, Wendover Utah, Wendover Nevada,
-1
archive,author,author-hwa,author-5,theme-bridge,bridge-core-2.7.7,woocommerce-no-js,tribe-no-js,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,columns-4,qode-theme-ver-26.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive
 

Author: Jim Petersen

Don and Eloise Hagedorn both lived in Wendover while Don was stationed here on base. During this time Eloise worked on base in a civilian capacity. This is our only colored photograph collection from World War II, and it offers unique glimpses at what life...

Norma Stoddard was a telephone operator on base in World War II. Her photos include many images of the women that served on base, their interactions with some of the servicemen, and shots of the base and town itself....

Wendover Army Air Base experienced a number of aircraft accidents during the war. We have a selection of crash images that emphasize the hazards present even at a training base such as ours. ...

Airmen stationed at Wendover Army Air Base often found themselves at this desolate post thousands of miles from loved ones. To help connect and share their journey, airmen could purchase items such as this tablecloth in the base PX (Post Exchange) and mail them home....

Wendover Army Air Base was involved in Project Alberta一the final engineering phase of the Manhattan Project. Over seventy non-nuclear “test shapes” of both Little Boy and Fat Man bombs were dropped as part of the work conducted in Wendover. Some of these components have been...

The museum has a number of World War II Army Air Force uniforms on display. These represent a range in duties, rank, and season. The ribbons and patches on every uniform have their own unique story to tell. See enlisted and officer dress uniforms, flying...

Our museum is home to an accurate 1:1 scale replica of the Little Boy bomb. Little Boy was a gun-barrel-type bomb that used uranium as its fissile material. It was dropped on Hiroshima on August 6, 1945, becoming the first-ever nuclear weapon used in warfare....

There are two of these buildings (2406, 2417) remaining on the airfield although the interiors of both have been significantly modified. There are both photos and sketches of the original interiors so getting back to a more original configuration will be possible. These two...

Building 2515 was the airmen’s dining hall, one of many mess halls on the base. This one was built in 1945, covers 9,585 square feet, and had a capacity of 500 persons. It is a “T” shaped building and has concrete floors with...

Barracks 2410 was chosen for its location and condition as the first to be restored in the barracks complex. With funding support in honor of Barry Formo, the Chief Tooele County Inspector and restoration supporter, work began. The original windows were repaired and painted, the...